SSHL - Advice for a newbie - Roger mics or similar for work

Lost a chunk of my hearing in my left ear suddenly about 5 weeks ago. I’m now having difficulty making out any speech if there is any background noise.

As a project manager I spend a lot of my time talking with people, my development teams, my peers and my clients. This is fine via MS Teams but face to face is virtually impossible at the moment as unless someone is next to me on my right side, I cannot really make out what they are saying.

I’m assuming that this will get slightly better with practice but at the moment I’m trying out some Phonak Audéo Lumity L90s. These seem to help a bit in quiet situations but noise in the open plan office and on site with the client, is still a challenge.

Looking around, people mention the Roger devices from Phonak, those of you using them, do they work? Would you recommend them or can you suggest something better.

If they work, I could (possibly) look to get something under the government Access to Work grant scheme, if they are worth it.

What would you recommend?

• Talking 1-2-1 but in noisy open plan office
  • Meeungs of about 8 people
  • Client site visits

For 1-2-1 a Phonak PartnerMic might do the trick (notably cheaper than Roger devices)
For meetings up to 8 people a Roger On iN might do it, but 2 Roger Table Microphones linked together might be better. Not sure what the needs of Client Site Visits.
You also might want to see if the new Phonak Audeo Spheres are available. If speech in noise is the issue, I’d want those instead of the Lumitys.

3 Likes

Thank you Mark.

My right ear is mostly fine, but my left ear looks just like your right audiogram.

I’ll have a look at the 1-2-1 partner mic.