Spare Hearing Aids

Do you think it’s a good idea to “buy” another pair of hearing aids to keep as a backup?
My previous hearing aids are quite old and I believe at some point, they will need to be fixed. (Signia ITE - Siemens ITE. I can’t remember their exact model names)

If yes, should I consider buying the same model I have just had, Naída Marvel 70? Or a cheaper and different brand and model would still work?

What about the earmolds and tubes? Do you keep them as spare as well, in case of “urgent” travel or living away from hearing aid companies?
Please feel free to share your insights! :))

3 Likes

I am not the example you really want but please allow me to give my example. My hearing loss isn’t as severe as yours. I am a veteran and my hearing loss is military service related. The VA insures that i have working backup aids at all times. My audiologist has been insuring that i have the newest aids when they become available to the VA system. My backup aids are my previous primary aids. My audiologist keeps both my primary and backup aids updated firmware wise and the adjustments updated to my hearing loss needs. Now understand there isn’t anyway i could do that if I had to pay for the aids, the services, and extra devices that i get.

7 Likes

Hi Zeeza, Unfortunately I don’t live such an exotic place as Luxor, but where i do live, I was lucky enough to receive hearing aids from my local hospital, they come with free maintenance and batteries. I could not manage without a spare set of aids whilst travelling, so I purchased a pair. Do you need to travel to Cairo for repairs? Maybe a cheaper aid will suffice as spares.

4 Likes