Sometimes domes can make all the difference

I’ve been wearing Whisper hearing aids for the past 3 years. The right ear has been fitted with a closed dome and the left with a power dome, both Phonak domes.

So, recently I did some experimenting on my own. I replaced the domes with a set of Oticon open bass domes just for the heck of it. Wow! What a difference. It’s like I’ve got a new pair of hearing aids. Not only does my own voice predictably sound better and more natural, but speech clarity is noticeably improved as well.

2 Likes

Absolutely. That was my biggest issue with the Whispers is that with the domes they gave me the feedback was awful and we still weren’t able to enough gain. For many of us, going to custom molds is an even more dramatic improvement.

Interesting that you went to custom ear molds. My previous hearing aids were Oticon Opn 1 for which custom molds were eventually prescribed, but my Whisper audiologist, who is different than the one who prescribed the custom molds for my Oticon, did not think that ear molds were indicated.

Who made your ease molds? Did they come from Whisper or somewhere else? Thanks in advance.

I totally dislike domes but love custom ear molds. No slipping out of place. No feedback issues. And no having my hearing aids fall off when changing glasses, or by a tree branch while hiking in the forest.

2 Likes

I used the Whispers as part of a study and just their molds. Study was about 6 weeks I think. My current aids are KS9. I first used them with Phonak made custom molds with Concha lock but they wouldn’t stay secure. Replaced with molds made by Westone with skeleton mold and they are quite secure with no feedback. My guess is that you’d like custom molds, but it’s all individual preference.

1 Like