Some Pearls of wisdom from my CI AuD…

As you know I’ve thought about going bilateral, I have still been thinking about going bilateral, that is until I read my AuD’s response. Her replies are from 25 yrs of being a CI AuD also a research AuD for Cochlear.

This post is for those of us who have congenital hearing loss in one or both ears. It’s been 7+ decades, and I’ve not heard high frequencies for.

I’ve been tossing around going bilateral for a couple of years now. So last week I sent an email to my CI “acute care” AuD.

For those of you like me who have congenital loss… I mentioned that I was very aware I would need to do some serious rehab for this ear.

CI Aud—-
The congenital loss in the left ear is definitely a concern, therefore making outcomes a lot more unpredictable. You say you realise you would need to do a lot of rehab, but sometimes that is just not enough or makes no difference. It might be out of your control. Generally people continue to prefer their first CI- and it tends to be a better outcome for most people. So if you make an assumption for example that a left CI might be half as good as the right- would that be worth it to you?

I said in the email that I still have very good bimodal hearing…

CI Aud
I think that says a lot. But I would book a formal audiology speech perception assessment to have the stats in front of us.

If you look at my audiogram you can see I still have good low frequencies.

CI AuD
If you still have good low frequencies this can make a big difference to the quality of sound.

I also have loss of balance from my first CI surgery.

CI AuD
Further loss of balance would also be a big concern. As it could be very likely to occur again.