Shopping for my first hearing aids

I’ve finally made the decision to get fitted with hearing aids after my recent testing. I went to Costco last weekend and demo-ed the Jabra Enchance 20s over the ear. They were amazing in every way but the style. I really want my first hearing aids to be either a IIC, CIC or maybe a ITC. I would like Bluetooth and the ability to reduce background noise when needed.
The tech at Costco strongly advised me to avoid any of the in the ear type HAs due to the occlusion effect.
So my question is does it look like from my audiogrsm I could pull off the canal aids with larger vent etc?

Question are you worried about people seeing that you wear aids? I have been wearing aids for 20 years. I have worn in the ear aids and now MiniRite aids. If you are wanting connectivity go with the MiniRite BTE aids. You can get ITE aids but the ons that will give you the best connectivity will be easier to see than the MiniRite BTE aids. And even then thw connectivity will not be great with the ITE aids. And from my experience the ITE aids are typically one or two generations older than the MiniRite BTE aids.

3 Likes

It is the big part of the reason I would prefer ITEs. The other is I wear glasses and when I demo-ed the Jabras it was quite crowded on top of my ears.

I have always worn glasses, I don’t even notice the behind the ear part of my aids. The ITE aids that are large enough for Bluetooth communications is going to be more visible than behind the ear aids now days.

2 Likes

If you really want an in the ear type aid, you’re going to pay more for it and lose features. Occlusion may be a problem. Nobody is going to notice RIC hearing aids. Issues with glasses can be minimized by getting glasses with thin temples. However, if you really want a CIC or similar aid, go for it.

5 Likes