RITE vs BTE?

Hi everyone,

I’ve been wearing BTE hearing aids since I was about five years old, and I’m just starting the process of finding a new pair. (The pair I’m wearing right now are from the mid '90s. Yikes!)

Anyway, my recommendation was a RITE (Receive in the Canal) pair of aids. My concern is that, as a lifelong BTE user, I simply won’t be able to get used to the RITE style. Has anyone here successfully switched from BTE to RITE? Are there any RITE users here who are happy (or unhappy) with this particular style? Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks and take care,

David

Wouldn’t the only difference between what you are used to and the RITE be that you currently have a tube running from the BTE to your ear canal whereas the RITE has a real fine wire running to the canal terminating to a really miniature speaker (aka receiver) that is actually inside the ear canal?

To me, it would seem that the RITE would feel just like what you are used to, unless I misunderstand what you currently have.

Hi Renovator,

My concern is primarily the receiver that resides in the ear canal. From what I understand, this would be a hard piece of plastic, no? I am currently used to the soft material that BTE molds are made out of, so it would seem as though the receiver would be quite a different feel.

I’m also a little concerned that the thin wire might not securely hold the behind-the-ear part of the hearing aid securely in place. What I mean is, without the hook to securely hold the hearing aid, won’t I feel the hearing aid move around every time I shake or turn my head?

I hope that I’m making sense. :slight_smile:

Thanks,

David

David, you make complete sense.