Resound LiNX 961 - My long winded feedback on the iphone integration and tech side of things

I’ve had a pair now for almost a month, and thought I’d post some notes, comments and feedback. I’ve also posted a few wish lists at the end.

Background
I’m a hacker and early adopter kinda person - got a Mac in 1984 when they came out, love gadgets, like to mess with stuff, had to get an iPhone, etc. So when I heard about a hearing aid that would work directly with my iPhone, I had to have it. The notion of having to carry around another gadget for Bluetooth or to act as a remote just wasn’t what I wanted to do. I already carry around a gadget (my iPhone) that’s more than capable. I love my phone and feel lost without it.

I’m 53 and have had hearing loss “forever” - that kid that didn’t always raise his hand during those hearing tests in 3d grade.

I’m an engineer by trade with a software background, do lots of user interface and user experience work, and am comfortable reading up on BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) standards and such.

My hearing loss is moderate, and I can work well with the BTE style and can use an open fit. I don’t have my audiogram so can’t post it, sorry.

Additionally, my audiologist isn’t necessarily that tech savvy, so I was definitely the guinea pig with these. It’s possible some things can be adjusted on the hearing aids that I (and my audiologist) don’t know about.

Controlling the aids from the phone

This is about using the phone to adjust the aid volume, programming, etc.

This is handy. Using the app, I can adjust the volume pretty easily. Changing programs is somewhat useful via the phone, but I’ve found that it’s easier to just push the little button on the back of the aid and cycle through to the program I want. There are only 4 of them, so it’s pretty easy to just press the aid button.