Phonak Naida Q70-UP and peak clipping

Hello!

I am having an annoying issue with my hearing aids and I am wondering if someone can help.

I have Phonak Naida Q-70 UP. I have been programming my HA’s myself for about 2 years.

My problem is, I think peak clipping.

When there is a loud high frequency sound (my wedding band clinking on a glass cup, “T” sound when listening to the radio at high volumes, lots of sounds from music I can’t really identify) my hearing aid makes an additional clicking or clipping noise. It’s super annoying.

I had this problem on my other Phonak Bolero Q-50 and my newer Naida Q-70, more in the right than the left. I suspect this has something to do with the super high gain as my HF loss is profound maxing out the HA.

I have read online about “headroom” I.E. “Headroom can be defined as the “residual dynamic range of a hearing aid, expressed as the difference in dB SPL between a given output (such as gain at user settings) and the level of saturation of the device”*. In layman’s terms, it’s the amount of sound that a user can hear through his hearing aid before clipping or distortion occurs.”

Cool, okay. How do I fix this in Phonak Target?

Christina

I have similar hearing loss like yours and I had saturation noise on my right HA because I have severe loss on the high frequency range like you do. I had my audi take down the the 8kHz and 6Khz gains by a few dBs, and even the 4kHz gain by a couple of dBs as well. With that, the saturation noise went away or is minimized.