Phonak Infinio Sphere vs Oticon Intent – quantitative word recognition testing

I have been wearing the Oticon Intent 2 for a couple of months now (professionally fit with custom ear molds by an audiologist following best practices). While I have been happy with the performance for speech in quiet environments and for music fidelity (primarily live music or on high quality playback systems), I’ve been disappointed with the performance for speech in noise and for the general lack of noise supression. I have asymmetric hearing loss, moderate to severe and bordering on profound in the 6 – 8 kHz region. Low frequency (< 1.5 kHz) loss is mild in one ear, moderate in the other. I tried the Intent 1 (conducting the same tests described below), and found no statistical difference for word recognition in noise.

For the past week, I have been trying out the Phonak Infinio Sphere I90 with vented domes (small vents). My subjective reaction to the Spheric Speech in Loud Noise program is similar to others’ reactions. They are set up so I can manually select this program, and I have used in it noisy restaurants, a trade show, a party, and driving at highway speeds while engaged in conversation. Compared to other HAs I have used, they are amazing in these situations.

Still, even though the Spheres clearly raise the signal-to-noise ratio for speech in noise, I wanted to quantitatively determine how much better I understand the speech in these situations with the Spheric program. So I set up and performed following test.