Phonak custom mold earpieces

Hi, I’m new to the forum but not hearing aids. I just received a new hearing aid, due to continued low frequency losses (already have severe high frequency loss). It’s a phonak, and i’ve been back several times trying to adjust the device for optimal word discrimination with lower “tinny” sounds. The tulip ear piece hurts my ear, and it seems a cut-off “double dome” with just one part works well.

They mentioned that I would be a good candidate for the custom ear mold. I think that would bother me, but if my hearing would be really good with it…I suppose I could give it a whirl.

For those of you with custom molds, what do you think about that? Is it alot different or bothersome than than little ear pieces?

Thanks

Letty

I have hard plastic “skeleton” molds and I find them very comfortable.

I have been wearing HA with customs molds for about 45 years.

If you are going to get the custom moulds free or not too expensive then I’d say give it a go, the worst that can happen is you go back to how you were. If they are going to cost you a fortune then that’s rather different.

I have always found custom moulds difficult because the shape of your ear changes when you do things like chew food and change facial expressions. I found I couldn’t smile with the aids in or they’d pop out, so I started trying to hold a cheesy grin when I was getting the moulds done and that worked a bit better but then they were not such a good fit. Then again we get the cheapest rock hard moulds here, so there’s a good chance that softer moulds wouldn’t have that issue.

You also have a larger tube coming over the top of your ear as there is a hard “elbow” attachment on the hearing aid attached onto the larger tubing, which can irritate some people, especially if you also wear glasses as there’s a lot to store behind your ear when you are not used to it. Only time would tell if you’d get accustomed to it or not.