Phonak Audeo P90-R - During a call, listener complains noisy ambient

I’ve been using Phonak Naida B90 for over 5 years with ComPilot2 and Remote Mic and I’m very satisfied.
I have been trying Phonak Audeo P90-R and the results are quite good.
However, during calls in noisy environments (TV on, other people talking, moving metallic objects, being in an echoing space) all people complain about the ambient noise which, they say, is louder than my voice and they cannot understand the what am i saying
With ComPilot 2, if the environment was too noisy, by long pressing the - key, the ambient sound would disappear.
How to get the same result in Audeo 90-R?

Pressing the minus-key muted the microphones on your hearing aids: So the only input is from the audiostream. The same can be done on my Marvel Audeo 90’s by holding the bottom of the HA toggle. (Short press is lower volume, holding is mute, holding on after that is shut down.)

IIRC, the microphone of the ComPilot would still work and that would improve the sound. With the P90’s and M90’s that would have to be the microphone of the mobile phone, as you’ve just disabled those of the HA’s. It’s worth a try.

Because people have complained about understanding me since I got the Audeo M90’s, too, I usually try to remove my mobile from my pocket to reduce the noise. I always thought it was odd, that the microphone is still on, while I am speaking through my HA’s. Maybe disabling the microphone of the HA is a better workaround. I will have to try.

Anyone else have a better/working solution?

1 Like

Doesn’t the (-) button on the ComPilot get rid of the noise for you BUT not for the caller?

Unfortunately the issue with callers, not being able to hear you is a known issue and that’s because the Microphone that is picking up your voice is in fact, behind the ear and really far away from your mouth.

1 Like