People's voice sound slurred with my new HA's What to do?

I’ve been wearing aids for 8 years and currently have a moderate to severe loss. I recently upgraded from micro tech radius ite to Stakey X 90 series BTE. I’m overall happy with these HA but I have one issue. More than half the people I talk to or hear on tv sound like they have slurred speech. It seems to be more women than men and mostly happens with “s” Some one may say cars and it sounds they yea are saying Carshes. At first I thought maybe the people I talked to just slur and I could never hear it before but my wife said this isnt the case. Another thing is s seems very exatrrated. I hear people talking sometimes and the swishing "s’’ it what sticks out most. An example would we hello yesh I shee you. (hello yes I see you) Then again some people dont have it at all. Please help!

The slurring and swishing “s” is probably just an adjustment that needs to be made or you just haven’t adjusted to the new sounds with the new HA. When I first got mine the “s” or “sh” some people said sounded like they were whistling when they said them, but after a while my brain adjusted to them and now it sounds like just an s or an sh. Hope this helps. Good luck!

I can think of two possibilities that are likely on this type of aid.

1. Sometimes the fitting algorithm is a little too trebley if that is indeed a word. So a reduction in higher frequencies might be the ticket.

2. The other possibility is that they are using the ‘Spectral IQ’ frequency transposition setting (which their software auto-selects if you are a candidate). This technology can help a LOT of people get better hearing of higher frequency speech sounds such as ‘S’. However, it can take some getting used to, and some people, especially long term users, may simply reject the way it sounds.