Oticon Warranty

For USA audiologist. If your patient walks into your clinic with a bad speaker wire and it’s under warranty do you have to mail the entire hearing aid to Oticon? or replace the receiver right at your shop and then go to Oticon to get your stocked equipment replaced?

I’m not a hearing professional, but when my receiver went bad, my audi just swapped a good receiver in stock for me. No paperwork, no need to send in the whole hearing aid. But I don’t know what she would do if I weren’t her patient.

In my case, one of the new Opn1s failed in the first week of use. Audi stuffed it in a box and mailed it to Oticon. Then issued me a demo. One week later I picked up a new replacement aid. Only hassle was the travel to her office. I did ask her about speakers. She said they are under the same warranty and if one fails during the three-year period she will replace it immediately from her stock.

@aggie60 in your case the hearing aid itself failed right? If that the case I understand the procedure.

In my case the hearing aid failed and was shipped back. But she said she would replace receivers from her stock if necessary. I imagine that the speakers are high failure rate items of small value and Oticon considers them expendable for field disposal.
EDIT: One thing of interest: When I picked up the replacement aid, the audi accessed an Oticon database and printed an instrument history for the new serial number. The history has patient name, date of purchase, warranty history, service history, device type and serial number. I imagine any Oticon-authorized audi/fitter has access to this data by instrument S/N and theoretically could provide warranty service to walk-in customers. But I don’t know what the policy is. A question for the professionals here.