Oticon More 1: Can you turn off streaming audio with buttons on the aids?

I just upgraded to More 1 and finally figured out how to answer & dismiss iPhone calls with the buttons on the aids. Is there a similar way way to use the buttons to stop or re-start streaming music or podcasts without having to access my phone? This function is available with ear pods & headsets.

I enjoy listening to podcasts & don’t want to have to scramble to find my phone to stop a streaming podcast when somebody starts to talk to me; they can’t tell I’m already listening to something & it’s frustrating for both of us. I’ve searched this forum & elsewhere; apologies if this is something everyone but me knows!

Not that I know of, I have been wearing More1 aids for over 2 years now and they are great. But you will need to keep your phone or streaming devices close by to stop the streaming other than the calls.

1 Like

:disappointed: Thanks for your response! Seems like a pretty big oversight!

No it is just the way that IOS MFi functions. There isn’t anything you can do at the aids to stop it. May sometime in the future they will figure it out. But I believe that Bluetooth low energy audio will the the next generation for aids. But it will be slow to happen.

1 Like

Apple AirPods and other MFi Bluetooth headsets and earpods are able to play/pause audio as well as answer/dismiss phone calls, so the lack of audio play/pause function seems to be an Oticon decision as opposed to a MFi limitation.

2 Likes

As it was explained to me Apple doesn’t want the hearing aids to be able to do everything that apple can do with its own air pods. Apple doesn’t release everything that MFi is capable of to other companies. And then there is the very low battery power limit that hearing aids have. The air pods don’t have near the battery life of hearing aids either. Just remember that aids are intented for understanding speach and not really designed for music.

1 Like