Oticon aid shutting down

I have had a problem with Oticon aids (multiple models) where one aid will “shut down” and not produce much sound. This behavior seems to be triggered by a loud sound, spoon drop, door slam, etc. and is almost exclusive to the left aid. When this happens, the volume and program buttons on both aids work. The problem will continue for an indeterminate amount of time and cannot be fixed via a reboot of the devices. I have gone through 3 different models, and all have exhibited the same behavior. They have tried worked with Oticon to solve the problem and have tried replacing speakers, deleting the program settings from the computer and creating new programs from scratch, replacing the devices, etc. I am a software engineer and I believe the devices detect some sound and respond by going into a clamp down mode where they don’t produce any sound, and that this mode is saved in the device, thus being remembered and restored after a reboot. Oticon has said this isn’t possible, but they have yet to offer a viable alternative to my theory.
I cannot believe I am the only one having these problems. Has anyone else out there experienced something like this?
Regards, Guy

I have had a few times that my aids will reboot if there is a really loud sound, for me it is usually a very loud scream or shout, and also if a very loud vehicle goes by. I have had my aids shutdown volume wise from the same things, but readjusting the volume or worse case a reboot fixes them.

My Opn 1’s will shut down given a loud sound with a fast rise in volume. I decided it was a self preservation path routine if the amplification of the sound would exceed the design limits of the receiver. I have no data to support this conjecture. Usually requires a restart but it does not happen often.

2 Likes