Occlusion or not?

I’m relatively new to my ITE, Phonak Virto P 312’s. I have moderate (bordering on severe) equal hearing loss in both ears. What is very frustrating, and certainly off putting, is when having conversations with people the sound of my own distorted voice. I would liken it to someone talking into a microphone and it being amplified through a blown speaker - loud and very distorted. I would rather not talk or be part of the conversation because of it… My HA’s were calibrated by my audiologist. I use the Phonak app and I have tried different settings and reduced the volume but no good. Reducing the set volume is defeating the object because I may as well not have the HA’s in, they are just acting as plugs. Also, I cannot eat with them in, especially something with crunch its just way too loud. Upon taking them out my tinnitus levels are off the scale, especially after suffering my own loud distorted voice. Has anyone else suffered with this?

I always ask this question.
Can you hear the distortion with the hearing aids out?
I do, it’s just not as loud.
If you have a damaged ear that causes distortion the aids magnify it.
I was told I have nerve damage.

1 Like

Hi freezerman404. Thanks for the response.
No, I don’t hear the distortion with the HA’s out. I’ve changed the batteries, there’s no moisture and the HA’s are clean as well as my ear canals. It’s really puzzling!

Your audiologist should be able to adjust your aids to at least help with this issue. But if you are new to aids this is a problem that normal can be adjusted for and also your brain will learn to tune it out. I have been wearing aids for 20 years and my first aids were very bad at me hearing my own voice. My brain slowly learned to tune it out. For my first few sets of new aids I would have to deal with the issue until I adjusted to the new aids. But as the years have gone by I no longer notice the issue with new aids.

1 Like