Occlusion and own-voice issues with closed domes

As I understand it, your hearing loss dictates the dome type. What about the “plugged up” experience, hearing your own voice reverberate, is that simply a byproduct of closed domes and there is nothing to be done about it? I do wonder b/c when I push them in a bit deeper, and they are situated just so, it goes away, my voice is normal and I can hear well. But they quickly slide back out a little, hitting the right angle or whatever inside, and I’m back to the fingers in ears feeling. It really bothers me when I eat so usually take them out then… anyone have any take on this?

I’d say “dictates” is too strong a word. Suggests is more like it. I’m no expert in this, but options that might help you out, in no particular order would be a different sized dome, a dome with more venting, perhaps a longer receiver wire if a shorter wire is making your dome slide out or a custom mold (of which there are multiple options) My take is that you either need more venting or a deeper fit (or perhaps both) A custom mold is likely the most direct way to obtain this, but experimenting with different domes is ok too. Posting your audiogram would allow others to give a more informed opinion.

6 Likes

I’m a provider, and I agree with @MDB on this one. I would like to see your audiogram before I gave any sort of specific input, but the information MDB has given is sound. Sometimes, trial and error is worth the time.

4 Likes

I’ve also understood that more deeper the receiver in your ear canal, the less occlusion effect. E.g. Phonak sells the Lyric as a less occluding device due to the deep position. I wonder why it’s not possible to combine a deep in the ear sitting receiver with an behind the ear HA to be able to reduce the occlusion. Is there any deep sitting custom mold on the market?

@steffner I believe it can be done by making a mold and attaching it to a longer receiver so that the mold can sit more deeply in the ear.