Not sure I need hearing aids - Audiogram shows Mild Loss

I am new to this forum. Just received my audiogram results and it is showing mild loss in both ears. My audiologist recommended trying hearing aids (RIC type) to see if they offered any benefit. I currently have a pair on loan for 30 days.

After a week I have noticed an improvement in my ability to discern words and not ask people to repeat themselves as much. I can even make out conversations in noisy environments better than before. My real concern is the price and whether or not it is worth the $1,800 for a pair. (Yes I know that is on the lower end of the pricing scale) :slight_smile: I have copied my Audiogram results to see what this community thinks. Since I am a total newb any feedback is appreciated.

Also my audiologist said that if I don’t take care of this now I could exacerbate the issue in the future. I have a feeling this is BS to sell me on Hearing Aids.

Catherine

If you want to hear better, and can afford it, get the hearing aids. If your hearing loss doesn’t seem to be too big a deal to you at this point, then don’t. Really, it’s pretty much that simple. Only you can decide if the degree of better hearing you get with hearing aids is worth $1,800 to you.

As to exacerbating the issue in the future, I’ll leave that to others who are more knowledgeable than I to comment on that.

1 Like

I am curious to see what others say. I went with hearing like yours for many years before my hearing got worse. I seemed to be hearing normal for a long time, sure I knew I could not spell that well, and I couldn’t understand Morse Code. Now I can’t function without my hearing aids.