Newbie questions

Hi,

I’m a newbie to the forum, trying to decide whether to take the plunge and buy hearing aids and, if so, which ones to buy.

I noticed some loss in hearing certain tones (of my alarm clock) about 4 years ago and went to get an exam at that time. The audiologist told me at that time that I should get hearing aids, but I’ve been putting it off.

My exam results have been nearly identical for the past 4 years, (although they dropped just a tiny fraction on a couple of frequencies in one ear this year). Here are the results of my exam from about a month ago:

Freq: 250/500/1000/2000/4000/8000
Left db: 20/20/25/30/20/40
Right db: 15/20/30/35/45/55

Is that really in the range that I should be getting hearing aids, or are they just trying to make a sale on some expensive hearing aids? I am starting to get annoyed at times with not hearing everything clearly, but I don’t want to jump the gun and get hearing aids if they’re really not appropriate yet.

A big concern is wondering whether it will generate any consequential social stigma that will affect me in my job. (I’m 49 years old, married, and work as a software engineer.) What kind of reactions have you had in your workplaces? (I know that every situation is different, but what have you guys seen in your own situations?)

My audiologist’s office recommended the Starkey Xino or Halo at $6400/pair. What would Costco have that would be comparable and what (if any) features would I be missing if I went with the Costco ones? Costco definitely sounds like it would be a lot cheaper than $6400/pair!

Finally, does anyone here have the Halo (or other iPhone compatible units)? If so, is the iPhone connectivity really worth it or would simple bluetooth be as useful? (Right now I have an android phone, but my wife has been lobbying for us to get iPhones and the iPad and iWatches look pretty neat too…)

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!