Newbie, need advice after trialing Phonak Audéo M90 and Oticon Opn S

Hi community. I’m new to hearing aids, but my hearing loss is a little bit older. I have a sever hear loss in high frequencies, but I used to lived with it. I’ve already tried HA some years ago, but because of the horrible experience wearing them and having no remarkable win, I finished throwing them in the drawer.

After many years I decided to give it another try. I visit my audiologist and became a pair of Phonak Audeo M90. The same awfull feeling as for years ago, everything loud, the voices are sharp, synthetic, my own voice robotic. The audi said I need time to become used to it. After 2 weeks of torture wearing them a new adjustment. A little bit better, but the overall sound was still awful. The speech recognition was also considerably better. The next adjustement brought just a small improvement, in loud environment the ambient noise tend to overhelm the speech making it more inaccurate.

The next step was the Oticon opn s. Way comfortabler sound, but with open domes feedback problems. With closed domes considerably better, but occlusion effect. The high pitched signals which I didn’t even heard with the Phonak are way too loud. How is such a difference between 2 HA possible? With the Phonaks I didn’t even heard the parking sensor in my car, with the Oticons is this sound annoying loud. The speech recognition compared to Phonak rather worse.

I will try the Resound, Widex and Signia HA. But I’m a little bit dispointed. I had great expectation from HA, I thought this time will be better. I know that I don’t become new ears, the hearing aids are just aids. But with some voices, my speech recognition became worse. I can’t understand my friend clearly, before I used to have with him a conversation without hearing aids easily. It’s perhaps the fine tuning of the HA or it is acclimatisation or both that make me hard times.