New Hearing Aids

Hi,

I have differing recommendations from different audis.

1. Unitron Indigo Moxi Open Fit BTE hearing aids at $2200 each.
  2. Either the Siemens Artis 2 at $3920/pair or the Siemens Intuis at $3360/pair.

My audiogram:

250 25/25
500 25/25
1000 30/40
2000 45/40
4000 45/40
6000 70/55
8000 70/60

I am brand new at this and would welcome any suggestions, comments or recommendations.

In addition, I have the following questions:

1. Which one is the most suitable HA for my situation (I’m a CPA) or would still something else be best?
  2. How is the price looking considering they will be dispensed in NY City?
  3. How comfortable are they to wear?
  4. How well do they stay in place?
  5. Does sweating adversly impact the HAs?

Thanks for any help.

Probably every manufacturer out there makes an instrument that will fit your need. Your (my) audiologist will recommend the instrument they feel most comfortable fitting to you. At least that is the way it worked out for me.
Peter

i would say…

1. if you get unitron get the next… it has been greatly reviewed here.
  2. most mid price options are identical across all board, so it is a matter of how fits what…
  3. sweating distroys hearing aids, buy a global from dry and store…

I’m brand new too, so can’t help you with models or brands (I’m test-driving the Widex Passion right now). But I live in AZ and it’s hot here (we sweat). My audi told me to wear them in the heat to see if my normal sweating was going to cause a problem while I’m still doing a trial. He also mentioned the Starkey Zon - he was impressed by it’s water resistant features. If sweat becomes too big a problem, I may check them out. Also, if you don’t mind possibly looking a bit silly, you can get little neoprene sleeves for the aids at http://www.gearforears.com/

Good luck!

AZboomers: