New Grip Tips from Oticon

I’ve been trialing a pair of Agil Pros for almost 2 months now. While the sound is getting closer and closer to getting dialed in, the fit of the receivers were driving me absolutely bonkers. I’ve tried all three open fit domes and the tulip domes. The smallest open fits were the least annoying, but I was totally aware that they were in my ear at all times. Bonkers, I tell you. I am very used to wearing ear plugs and I can generally pretty much forget about them after a while because the gentle pressure is constant and not painful (Howard Leight Laser Lites). Anyway, my audiologist called Oticon and they sent her a set of Grip Tips, about which she had not previously been aware. The come in two sizes, are soft silicone and are shaped to fit a generic ear canal. They come in vented and non-vented versions and my feedback is this: they are the best thing that has happened to me with respect to solving my fit issues!! I am ecstatic. There is a slight occlusion effect, but it isn’t too bad (I’m very sensitive to occlusion). Bottom line, if you are not happy with how the receivers for either your Intiga or Agil/Agil Pro fit inside your ear and you either don’t want a custom mold or you’ve tried a custom mold and it didn’t work out, I strongly suggest you giving these tips a try. I’m about 90% less depressed about how I think that hearing aids will work out for me after trying these tips. Just thought I would share.

I should add that there is also what is called a Lite Tip that is in the same vein as the Grip Tips… something else to consider as well.

Information:

You will need to copy and paste the line above in your browser; I cannot post links yet (a bit annoying…)

(I don’t think that either of these will work with Power Domes, but read the literature carefully to find out or ask your audiologist to confirm.)