My sudden loss of hearing as a Audio Engineer

Hi,
My name is Tim, I am a professional Audio Engineer for the past 15 years. I work for a well known major corporation in that capacity. This summer, while checking a performers microphone after he placed it incorrectly, he retaliated against me by shouting into the mic while I held one headphone to my right ear. Long story short it caused permanent nerve damage and the end of my career as a front of house engineer. Im suffering greatly because of all this and I’m just looking for any guidance or advice. My new hearing aid arrives this week but I’m still a little down because of the whole situation. Thanks.

I hope you consulted an attorney and sue his ass.

I can tell you grieving your hearing is like grieving the death of a loved one. I’m about 9 months into my sudden hearing loss and finally coming to terms. Life is harder for sure, but you learn coping skills and to advocate for yourself. I told my boss that I needed him to stop using his speakerphone during conference calls because it makes it difficult for me to hear him. Little things like that come up and you learn to advocate for yourself to keep on keeping on. You can be a survivor or you can be a victim.

Getting hearing aids is a step in the right direction. Assuming your other ear is normal are you going to use a CROS system or is the damaged ear aidable? Do you have your audiogram that you could post?

What you need is a damn good lawyer…

Sounddad,
i totally get your issue, as an audio tech myself for over 20 yrs (hobbyist these days) and a drummer for over 40 yrs
the industry has taken its toll on me and my hearing. While my loss crept up in me as opposed to a major fast shock.

just this week I received hearing aids and have a love/hate relationship with the whole issue. I like being able