My Experience with Vented Domes for Philips 9040

I’m a new user of the 9040, coming from the KS10 and having no previous experience with Philips hearing aids. I notice some scattered discussion of Philips domes on the forum and thought that I’d write my experience to date with domes, might help some folks.

I loved the KS10 vented domes, the little black ones that are bullet-shaped. These domes my point of reference.

With the 9040 I tried various Philips domes, of which there is a wide assortment. I had terrible itching problems with the material in all of the Philips domes and had to look for an alternative.

Phonak/KS10 domes don’t fit the connector on the Philips. I found that Starkey domes do. And they have the same general black look and soft, conforming feel as my KS10 domes. They work for me. So I have solved my itching problem.

Itch problems aside here are some further comments:

I have no experience with open domes of either brand.

I tried the Philips double domes and disliked the occlusion. They are really good at closing-off all natural sounds. Closed domes are probably in my future, but thankfully not now.

I tried the Philips double and single vented domes and liked the sound of both quite a lot, as well as my KS10 domes. Due to itching I didn’t have a lot of time with either, but in the end I might have gone with the single vent as I still seemed to get an acceptable amount of natural sound from it and it probably has better feedback possibilities.

I tried only the “occluded” version of the Starkey domes. I don’t know why they call these domes occluded. They sound fine to me, like a vented KS10 or Philips dome. Starkeys are comfortable.

Philips vented domes come only in even millimeter sizes. Starkey domes come only in odd mm sizes.