My Experience with Philips 9040s (Costco)

I have been wearing hearing aids for more than ten years due to high-frequency hearing loss, specifically Kirkland KS10s, for the last three years. Lately, I have noticed more difficulty following conversations in meetings when multiple people speak simultaneously. Also, I have a female assistant to whom English is a first language. Her voice isn’t overly soft, but I find her very difficult to understand, even in quiet settings.

Also, my KS10’s warranty expires next month, and my health insurance will more than cover a new set from Costco. I decided to get a new pair. Given my type of hearing loss, the Costco technician recommended the 9040s. Everything seemed fine when I tested them in the audio booth and walked around the store. They didn’t sound like my KS10s, but from prior experience, I know it takes a few days to get used to new hearing aids.

I ordered a set and picked them up last Friday. I immediately noticed that the world was a much louder place. Small sounds I never noticed before, such as the click of my keyboard at work or the beeping of a microwave oven, were annoyingly loud. My wife and I went to a cafeteria-style restaurant for lunch the next day. While in the care, my wife’s voice sounded as if she was yelling. In the cafeteria, the high-frequency sounds from female voices and the clatter of plates were overwhelming. Higher-frequency female voices were amplified to the point of distortion. I tried to adjust the volume, but the Philips iPhone app wouldn’t connect. I looked at the accessibility setting on my iPhone (15 Pro Max w/IOS 17.4). It showed that the hearing aids were still paired with my iPad several miles away. We got our food to go and beat a hasty retreat back to the relative quiet of our home. Luckily, I got back into Costco that afternoon to have the volume settings adjusted down.