My experience with Oticon More 1

I have been using Oticon More 1 since 2 years now and I’m facing two challenges with them. The first challenge is hearing people when I’m in the car sitting with people. There were many cases where I was sitting at the backside and I could barely understand the people’s speech sitting at the front. I need to see their faces to hear and understand them clearly which is impossible from the back seat. Similarly, when I’m in the front seat, I have to turn around to see and clearly understand those speaking from the back.

The other challenge I’m facing is during gatherings at with guests. When my guests are talking, I often feel lost because I struggle to understand their speech, even in the absence of background noise. I need to look at each person’s face to properly hear and understand them. If I miss seeing anyone, I feel completely lost.

Please advise if anyone is facing the same issue and found a solution? Your help would be greatly appreciated. I have attached my audiogram report and other details for your understanding.
Skaik_Rami_30.12.2023.pdf (121.7 KB)

Your issues are very common, by the way your hearing loss is very similar to my hearing loss. With concentrated effort and communication between your audiologist and you your aids should be able to be better adjusted. Some of it depends on the receivers you have and the domes or custom ear molds. I have custom ear molds and the 105 db receivers. At first the sound was way too loud for my comfort but over time i was able to get use to the sound and with it my speech understanding improved greatly.

1 Like

I took a peek into your report. Here is my very own opinion.

You use mould and a closed vent. This may or may not work for everybody because of occlusion and makes low-frequency sounds overwhelm the upper-frequency sounds. AKA masking. Make it unclear or disturbed.