Musical pitches

I have bilateral sensorineural hearing loss and have been wearing aids since 2017.
I am a musician and play piano everyday ( well I did!)
Two and a half years ago I had ear wax removed by microsuction and from that day I have had all sorts of sound problems including the piano sounding like a fuzzy mess.
About a year ago three of the higher notes ( E6,F6 & F#6 ) became badly out of tune, rather I was hearing them out of tune. This is incredibly annoying when listening and playing music but as they are quite high notes and arenā€™t played all the time itā€™s just about bearable.
Then inexplicably the other day I started hearing G5 and A5 as G# and A#. This is right in the normal music range and has pretty much ended my playing and listening, music is simply not worth listening to if itā€™s full of WRONG notes.

I was just wondering if this has happened to anyone else and is there any solution ( I think I know the answer to the solution question)
Thanks

1 Like

Yes I experience something similar. Under certain conditions and songs I hear them playing in the wrong key so consequently the melody and harmonies are perceived as incorrect. This happens with songs I am extreme familiar with and know the key and chord structure very well ( am a guitar player). When this happens I have to force my brain to rethink what I am hearing to get it back to the right key.
There are some setting on most modern HAs that lower the frequency of some some sounds so that it enhances speech understanding depending on your audio gram. I have a Music program with it turned off and other tweaks like reducing feedback suppression. This makes some improvement but does not eliminate the problem.
I have rationalized this by assuming I hear some harmonics or overtones preferentially over the dominant frequency, and my brain does itā€™s best to make sense of the music and sometimes gets it wrong.