Lyric Hearing Aids

Hello all,
I am new to HAs and the forum (newbie alert :o).

I think I am to the point that I am ready/have to get something to help with my hearing loss. I am a 37 year old male. I don’t have my last hearing test in front of me, but it’s been getting worse and my conductive hearing loss has especially getting worse.

So I was looking at the audiologist’s website and they list Lyric hearing aids (http://www.lyrichearing.com/) which seem nice because they are hidden. But I was wondering if anyone has used them and what your thoughts are about them?

Your mileage may vary, but… I ruled them out almost immediately, even though “invisible” was very high on my list of priorities.

You can remove them yourself. You need to visit your audiologist to put them back in – and they can’t get wet.

You should cover your ears in the shower, and you can’t go swimming without removing them.

If you’re like me and want something invisible, think about mini-RITEs. I’ve pointed mine out to a few very close friends, and they all say “oh, wow, I didn’t even see them.”

Forget about invisible and get what will get you the best hearing. If you get a BTE with RIC very few people will know you have hearing aids and no one really cares if you wear hearing aids. Your hearing loss is way more visible than any HA would be. I’ve worn both BTE’s with earmolds and BTE’s with RIC and no one notices either one, people just don’t look at your ears when they talk to you. Find someone who knows what they are doing in setting up your hearing aids and get what will work the best. Good luck!

Probably 50% of my satisfied Lyric folks are happier about the reduced effort of day-to-day use than the invisibility. They like not having to change batteries, clean the aid, etc, even though these are simple and easy functions. Lyric patients are among the happiest that I have. I’ll list my pros and cons from the audiologist perspective.

Pros: