Loop / T-coil to Bluetooth adaptors

Hi, I’m an audio engineer and we currently have a loop / t-coil system that our hearing aid users use. Recently we’ve been getting more users with Bluetooth hearing aids that aren’t loop enabled.

We want to make sure all our users can hear our stream so I’ve looked into Bluetooth adapters / streamers.

It appears that each hearing aid manufacturer has their own Bluetooth configuration for their own hearing aids which means we’d have to support five or so different makes of streamer. Our budget wouldn’t stretch to that.

This seems a tad overkill given the loop is generic.

I’ve seen that most Bluetooth hearing aids regardless of manufacturer have the ability to link via Bluetooth headset profile (HSP) or Bluetooth handsfree profile (HFP).

So… is there such a thing as a “loop / t-coil to Bluetooth (HFP)” neckloop ?

The Bluetooth hearing aid user could could then pick up one at the door, use it for the session and pop it back afterwards.

I’ve done hours of searching and can only find neckloops that do the reverse, stream Bluetooth to a non Bluetooth enabled t-coil hearing aid.

Many thanks

The basic problem as I see it is that the bluetooth you speak of is proprietary to Apple and their devices. You would need “Made for iphone” transmitters to transmit into those hearing aids.

Bluetooth itself isn’t proprietary. The Bluetooth (HSP and HFP) profiles aren’t proprietary.
Apple does lock their version of Bluetooth down to devices that only they approve.
In my scenario I would be using generic T-coil to generic HSP / HFP so this wouldn’t be an issue.

My understanding is that the HA’s will ONLY receive transmissions from a Made for iphone transmitting device like an iphone, ipad, ipod and apparently even the Apple watch.
Or as you wondered…the manufacturers own devices that would indeed get costly for you to offer all brands.
There’s only one HA so far that can receive transmissions from standard bluetooth.