ITE (in the ear) vs RIC or BTE

Hi, I’m looking for advice on pros/cons of ITE or ITC style HA compared to RIC or BTE style.

I have been wearing ITC/ITE HA’s for about 10 years. I am about to buy new HA’s, and was recommended to get either 1) Siemens Pure RIC (with molded piece, apparently my loss in high frequencies make the open fits unsuitable - unfortunately), or 2) Nu Ear Imagine 2’s as an ITC or ITE.

Are there noticeable differences in hearing quality:

• microphone location in more natural location (in ear for ITC) vs behind the ear (RIC)
    -telephone: I was always removing my ITC to use the phone, sound quality was better this way (using telephone volume adjustment) than using the HA (sounded distant, tinny, like coming from a radio) BUT this is how I lost my right HA (recently). Would the RIC/BTE style provide better quality sound on the telephone? I currently have an open-fit as a loaner from my HA dispenser (for the one I lost) and the sound is quite good on the phone (maybe because it’s open fit?)

• lifestyle:
    - I’m a fairly active person (ultimate frisbee, cross-country skiing, various outdoor activities)
    - would the RIC or BTE be more (or less) susceptible to moisture damage (sweat/rain), or dislodging from my ear during a ‘fall to ground’ type of movement in ultimate)

• any other pro’s or con’s for the RIC/BTE style compared to ITC?

Thank you,

With your loss, I think you are going to get similar results from either RIC or ITC. I think that these days the trend is more towards the loudspeaker being in your ear, as opposed to in the hearing aid (BTE style).

If you have an active lifestyle the ITC is probably going to stay in the ear better, especially if the put a canal lock on it.