Itchy ear

Hello!

I have Oticon hearing aids. I have been wearing them for about 6 months. I really enjoy them, but in the last two or so weeks, they have caused my ear to be rather itchy when they are in and, at times, afterwards if they have been in my ears for awhile. Would anyone have any solutions for this or why? I’m wondering if I got some sort of infection or something…around the time it started, I had 4 longer flights over about a week for travel for work and then vacation and my ears popped constantly, that has been the only thing different.

You might have either wax in your ears or an outer ear infection, possibly fungal (which can itch like hell). Have your Gp look in your ear. Your middle ears seem to be working well, considering they were popping normally.

Try Miracell

Clip: “but in the last two or so weeks, they have caused my ear to be rather itchy”. No, it’s not the HAs that are causing the itchiness. The enemy of ear canals is moisture, which provides a nice Petri dish for incubating bacteria and fungi. Moisture can be introduced in any number of ways, limited only by your imagination, but showering, face-washing and adjacent perspiration (sometimes but not always) coupled with contaminated hearing aids are the main causes.
Buy a Dry-and-Store; the one with the UV light, buy some appropriate ear drops, and plug your ears while showering. These measures will go a long way in the right direction. In case you haven’t noticed, ENT doctors are not so quick to flush out ear wax anymore, fishing it out with a tool instead to encourage a dry canal.
Good luck.
Tommy