Is it me or my hearing aids?

I’ve been wearing HA’s for a little over 6 years now. The last 2 and a half have been with Phonak’s. But lately all I can hear with them on is any electric device that’s on or any vehicle/airplane etc. and they completely subdue any speech from a person. Is my hearing changing or are the HA’s not performing the way they were? I’m almost at the point of shelving them.

2 Likes

Sounds like it is time get your aids checked and to get a hearing test. I get at least annual hearing test. I have my aids checked and professionally cleaned 3 to 4 times a year.

8 Likes

Have you replaced the wax filter recently ?

I’ve cleaned them and changed the guards. Had a hearing test 6 months ago. The HA’s were sent away for checking and I was told that they had replaced them with entirely new ones. That was just before the warranty ran off.

3 Likes

This may not apply for you. My Phonak hearing aids are over 10 years old. All the electronics are behind the ear. My hearing got slowly worse over the years, to where converstions were difficult. I found my original silicone dome earpieces were a loose fit. When I found some snug fitting domes recently, I got more gain out of the aids and began hearing much better.

Also, there is a tiny, perforated plastic grill over the hearing aid microphone. I open up the hearing aids maybe once a year and clean this with isopropyl alcohol - this helps with voice frequencies.

2 Likes

What model Phonaks do you have to open them, and clean the microphone? The only way I can open my Audéos is with heavy equipment that produces cracking, warranty-voiding sounds.

1 Like