iOS connection problems

I’m new to hearing aids and am using Philips 9040s purchased from Costco.

I see on the forum that a number of people have connection problems when they have more than one Apple device, e.g., a phone and an iPad. That’s my problem: if my iPad is nowhere close, the connection to my phone is pretty much flawless, but if I sit in front of my iPad, the devices connect to my iPad and simply won’t reconnect to my phone. I know this is supposed to be automatic, but it isn’t. In some cases, I have had to turn everything off, leave the iPad off, and restart and repair the phone and aids.

I have nearly zero interest in connecting my iPad and didn’t set up the aids on that device. Apple transferred the information from my iPhone.

What I am wondering is whether I can tell my iPad to “ignore this device” without in affecting the phone. That is, just as iOS transferred the setup from my phone to my iPad, I’m concerned that it will transfer the “forget this device” in the opposite direction, doing it on the phone.

Anyone know what would happen?

thanks.

I don’t know Apple products but if you don’t use Bluetooth on your iPad I’d just turn Bluetooth off. That ought to do it.

5 Likes

I agree with @MDB. I have my HAs paired with 3 apple devices (personal cell, work cell and an iPad). 95% of the time I leave the bluetooth turned on on my personal iPhone, and leave the bluetooth turned off on the other two devices(I leave them paired because there are occasions when I do what them to stream to my HAs). I fortunately have NO connection issues as long as the bluetooth is only turned on on 1 device. This works for me because I really don’t use the other two devices for anything that requires bluetooth.

Having said that, you should be able to just ‘forget’ your hearing aids on your iPad. But mine didn’t automatically pair my HAs once I paired with the first device so I can’t say for certain there is not a setting somewhere that you have turned on.