Improving Bluetooth connectivity with Windows 10 and 11

I had the annoying problem that my Apple iPods disconnected from my Windows PC every time I reached the end of a YouTube video. I had to go into Bluetooth settings and click “Connect” every time. This got old very quickly!

Why am I posting this in a hearing forum? Because I think the fix I found also improves the connection reliability of all Bluetooth connected headsets in Windows - including my Phonak P90s!

I’m a Windows Systems Engineer. What follows is quite techie, but I think most are not really interested in the deep dive, so I will try to keep it as simple as I can!

WARNING. This involves a Windows registry edit. If you are not comfortable doing this, ask an expert, or don’t do it! I don’t want to hear that you have messed up your PC!

Much of the way that Windows functions (or does not!) is configured by settings in the Registry. Microsoft changes these settings when you select options like background screens or mouse speed. Alos, when programs are installed, vendors also add or change registry settings.

If you Googe search for “iPods disconnecting in Windows”, you’ll get many “answers”, many of which are irrelevant or want you update drivers or to buy some “fixit” program. The following is a fix that I filtered from all the chaff, and which noticeably improved Bluetooth reliability for me. YOUR MILEAGE MAY VARY!!

If you are listening to audio on a Bluetooth device (iPods, hearing aids) and walk out of range, the Bluetooth standard defines that Bluetooth should automatically reconnect when you again once in range. Also, it seems that the combination of Windows and YouTube automatically disconnects when any video finishes. That means if I’m watching a series of videos, I need to click “Connect” each time!