I'm new here, I need your help and advice for my cookie bite

Hi, I’m new to the world of deafness, after watching some videos and reading over internet, I’ve found that I have cookie bite hearing loss, I thought I had noise exposure but after checking my audiogram with other audiograms from interned, it changed my mind.

I know that I must do an appointment with an audiologist, but unfortunately in my country there’s no such of thing, so we only have ENT and Audio technicians so I would like to know your advice and opinions about my hearing loss, since this is the first time that I got aware of my deafness, I got a pair of signias over ebay, I know the risks but I’m also a computer programmer and I have pretty good knowledge in audio so I wanted to fit it by myself, I know that I also need REM but at least the in situ should be a good start until I find someone that rents or charges me for a REM measurement.

Hi, your audiogram looks a bit unusual to me, with that return to almost-normal hearing at very high freqs. However, you will indeed need HAs because of your moderate loss at freqs relevant to speech. Self-fitting is an excellent option. Hopefully someone here (or posts elsewhere) can guide you to the proper soft- and hardware.

There is a DIY area in the forum that can help you.
To find it go to categories. Then scroll down to muted categories. There you will find the DIY forum.
Lots of good help there.
Good luck

3 Likes

Your hearing loss is very similar to what my hearing loss was 20 years ago. Cookie bite hearing loss is a hard issue for most of us trying to understand conversations because out loss is right in the speech frequency range.