How should the domes actually fit in the ear?

I’m new to hearing instruments, just wearing my Oticon Dual XWs for a couple months now. Still not totally comfortable with how the domes fit in the ear. What I’m finding is that if I just hold on to the cable and push them in, I can get them in so far, but if I take a finger nail and kind of angle them and push in on the piece the dome attaches to, I can angle the dome up and in and slide it in further. If I go to far it’s uncomfortable, but I find if I go in just a little, I seem to hear a bit better. Maybe that’s because the sound is just a little louder since the dome is now closer to the eardrum. I’m not sure.

But, it won’t stay there. It slowly works it’s way back out to the original position.

I’m not sure where these are designed to sit. Should it be at the point before it goes up and deeper into the canal, or should I try to get it a bit further back? And if the latter, is it possible to actually get it to stay?

I hear people talk about “I forget I’m wearing them.” well, I never forget I’m wearing them. It always feels like I have something stuck in my ear. Maybe that goes away after a few more months, but as of now, it’s still very noticeable to me. Not uncomfortable, just noticeable. I mean, I DO have something sticking in my ear.

I find that domes usually ‘hook’ around a ‘corner’ in the ear canal, and so stay firmly seated.

However a dead straight canal - or worse still a narrowing conical canal - can cause the dome to work out.

A ‘sports lock’ can help … but some of these aren’t too well designed.

i have the phonak open fit domes. there is an optimal position where it rests… not too deep and not too loose. first make sure u have the right size domes. ur audi should be able to advise u where it should sit properly. maybe ur domes are too small and dont have sufficient ‘grip’ in ur canal?