How much of a difference/what should I expect to hear?

Oticon Bass domes, single vs double vent. Using in my left ear on an 85 db receiver. Not sure I hear any difference. Should I and what frequencies?

1 Like

You need to give more details. Are you wearing hearing aids in both ears? Or just the left one?

Are you a brand new user or experienced user?

What hearing aids are you wearing?

What is your expectation from wearing hearing aids?

Hi Volusiano,
I have been wearing HAs for 6 years. This, OPN1s, are second set, about 7 months. My hearing is influenced by Meniere’s Disease and has worsened on the past several years. My right ear is mostly effected with speech discrimination very low in that ear. Right ear has 105 db receiver with closed power dome. Right ear mainly provides some spatial support to my hearing. Left ear is 85 db receiver with Bass dome. I purchased them online and was given single and double vented Bass domes as well as open domes to try. I have stayed with the Bass domes for the past 7 months, but cannot determine what the difference in hearing is with either, hence my original question. As to what I expect. I would like to have a set of aids that give me as close a hearing experience to what I had when a young man. I know that perfection is impossible, just trying to understand what the sound difference should be with the diff domes.

Although you will never get the original hearing you had back, you should expect to be able to hear sounds you can’t hear without hearing aids, and understand speech when you have your hearing aids on.

It seems like you have the correct dome fittings to your ears, and your receivers’ sizes seem more than adequate for your hearing loss.

2 Likes

Thank you, Volusiano, for taking the time to reply. To make sure that my assumption is correct, I should not hear, then, any difference between the single and double vented Bass domes?

1 Like