Help for my 96 year old Mum

Audiogram.pdf (180.1 KB)

Hi All

My mum’s audiogram is attached (hopefully). I presume this suggests a severe to profound, but treatable, hearing loss.

She is currently using a Specsavers Advance RIC hearing aid (rebranded Unitron Moxi Fit) with custom molds plus a Roger On.

She still has a good deal of trouble hearing normal or raised conversation even in quiet situations.

When I ask our Specsavers clinician if there is anything we can do to help her, he shrugs his shoulders and says that I need to understand that my mother has lost the ability to hear at these frequencies and little can be done to improve that. This doesn’t quite make sense to me.

I have asked the clinician if we might consider a more powerful BTE aid but he hasn’t replied. I suspect he finds me troublesome!

Does anyone have any advice? Her loss looks treatable to me, but I am not an expert of course.

2 Likes

Hi there, hey great your trying to help your mum in this regard, looking at her audiogram it isn’t too bad at all, the thing to remember is hearing aids don’t restore ones hearing, also if mums lost the ability to “understand” speech then this is also going to be a problem that hearing aids won’t help with, so first off I’d get a second opinion before committing to getting more powerful hearing aids, but you’ve come to the right place, I’m sure there will be lots of advice on how to help

2 Likes

She has a severe loss rather than severe to profound.

She also has got No Response on the Audiogram at just the last frequency which means she has a good chance of hearing certain frequencies if hearing aids are well programmed.

With RIC Aids, the power of it can be changed with changing the receivers. She may already have a powder receiver.

Think they go 65dB, 85dB, 100dB and 105dB.

1 Like

Thanks tenkan and zebras for your replies. Much appreciated.