Hearing well in noise (with and without assistive technologies)

I do realise that hearing well in background noise is more or less the holy grail of hearing aid technology and adjustments, but I still want to have a(nother) go at this. The basic question is very simple: How to get the best possible speech understanding in noise, where the noise consists of other people talking? My current hearing aids are Phonak Audéo Marvel with open domes. I have a speech in noise programme, but I’m not very happy with the way it functions (and have found it hard to get it adjusted, since noisy situations aren’t easy to recreate in the audiologist’s office). I also have access to Roger table mics and a Roger pen. The Roger pen is helpful in noisy situations, but there might be more to do regarding adjusting it too.

A very long background to the above question: I work as a university professor and find myself in lots of challenging listening situations, many of them in my second language (English). Typically, the challenging listening situations consist of trying to understand what one person (or worse, a small group of people) are saying in a background noise created by other people speaking (conferences and other events, meetings in restaurants, less well-organised meetings, the list goes on and on).,To some extent I can control such situations (by chairing meetings and keeping a strict talking order, for example) or just avoid them (conference dinners) - but networking is an important (and interesting and fun!) part of my job, and I do find myself in lots of situations that I cannot really control. I’m in my mid-forties, so hopefully I have a long working-life in front of me, so I need sustainable solutions.