Hearing Preservations - successes and failures

Anyone out there who went into surgery with a strategy for low frequency hearing preservation?

Eager to hear how it’s gone. Literature suggests many attempted low frequency maintenance patients eventually deteriorate.

I’m a singer and musician, which has been my biggest impediment to considering a CI, despite my being a candidate

2 Likes

I had good lows pre op. I still have good lows post op. Getting a CI didn’t effect my lows at all. But it did effect my high frequencies, I list the standard 20% high frequencies. And they managed to preserve my residual hearing. Sadly my residual dropped out 15 months post op.

3 Likes

Well, I had a strategy, but it is out of our control. I hoped to preserve my good low frequency hearing and use the acoustic ear hook attachment for my Advanced bionics CI. My surgeon from Vanderbilt university - a leader in CI research - said it is pretty much a 50/50 shot. I was surprised and thought a surgeon would boast better results. I was quite concerned. I did not keep any residual hearing, but it has not bothered me as much as I thought. The CI has helped me a lot. I enjoy most types of music, including classical and opera. I used to play piano, but am certainly not a musician. I use the Phonak Marvel Link HA in my other ear and find it helps provide more warmth to the music. I do not capture the melodies as much as I’d like with just my CI, but with both, I find it a pleasing experience, even if different. Music specific rehab can help. I played around a bit on my daughter’s piano and did have some success better differentiating high notes after some work. It might be like the electronic keyboard vs the true piano - there a depth and richness to the real thing…however the real thing is mostly gone or none of us would be on this forum…so.

4 Likes

Your hearing journey is not over.
I definitely am still learning to hear better.