Hearing in auditorium, outdoors, noisy areas

New to the forum. Spent about an hour searching, couldn’t find discussions on my topic. So here goes:

I’ve been wearing HAs for 7 years, starting when I was 55. First were large BTEs . . . .they filled with sweat from sports. Replaced them with Sonic Natura (?). Never happy with them. Bothered my ears and hated the occlusion sound. Eating anything crunchy meant taking them out; else could not hear anyone talking at all.

Over 3 years ago, my audio suggested Oticon BTEs (litle triangle-shaped). They were a huge improvement over anything previous. But they, too, have drawbacks.

1. Can’t understand anyone in an auditorium. Went to hear Glenn Beck and O’Reilly a month ago. It was a struggle to understand anything they said. Constantly had to ask my wife what they said. People around me apparently could understand them quite well.

2. Cant carry on a conversation outside . . . much harder yet near a busy roadway. The sounds of cars are overwhelming. In a group outside a hotel, I just nodded my head when everyone else did. Didn’t have a clue what wat being said most of the time.

3. I guess everyone has trouble communicating in a noisy restaurant. The Oticons were better than the previous CIC’s, but that may have been because of the CIC occlusion effects.

So now, I’m seeing a new generation of HAs out there. Oticon and Siemens in particular. Are they really any better? Or is this just life the way it’s going to be and I should be happy with what I have? :rolleyes:

I’m actually thinking of buying new aids, even though my Oticons are functioning.

Ken

Maybe that’s because Murdoch’s people never have anything real that makes sense to intelligent people. Nobody w. intelligence can understand them. <G> They do make great fodder for late night hosts.