Hearing Aids part-time?

hi all, really glad to have stumbled on this place, as i’ve been kinda on the fence about getting hearing aids for a few years now. oh, about ten, lol. the last time i saw my audiologist i said…wow, i’m gonna be really deaf someday, huh? she looked at me wryly and said…um…not someday, you already are really deaf, lol.

anyway, right now i’m looking at the dot 30’s, i’m told they would be highly compatible with my hearing loss.

i’m a painter. a messy one, lol…i use specialty plasters, glazes and paints to do custom finishes by hand, also murals etc…which means that i am pretty much covered in paint splatters on a daily basis, and definitely would NOT wear expensive hearing aids on a job site. i spend most of my day up on scaffolding facing a wall, often with custom earplugs in to drown out the noise of power tools from the construction crew, so i don’t need/want to hear while i’m working anyway.

i’m single, live alone and rarely watch tv, so i don’t need/want hearing aids for that reason either. about the only time i really need to wear them is when i’m meeting with clients to discuss projects, for the odd social occasion. i would like to go to a movie now and again, haven’t done that in over ten years, might be a real treat. probably other stuff i haven’t done in so long i can’t think of anything else now.

so…are HA something you need to wear for significant periods to adjust to them, or can i pop them in occasionally and be comfortable?

oh and…just sort of an fyi twist about my hearing…i just can’t get over this bit of irony myself…i recently took up the guitar, and have discovered i actually have perfect pitch, lol.

ok, many thanks for any advice/comments, i’m just not sure how beneficial HA would be in my particular circumstances.

cj

darn it, i didn’t mean to have my email as my username, i don’t think i can change it now. must be going blind or something too.

:rolleyes: