Hearing aids and landlines and headphones

Hey, I’m new to hearing aids, and I was curious to know what one does when they have hearing aids on and have to pick up the landline phone?

Additionally, I assume if one has to use headphones for work to a computer (windows).

I am picking up my KS8.0 tomorrow and was wondering about those two situations since I’ll be running into them for work.

I only call people on my iPhone. When I put my iPhone to my ear, it automatically switches to my DuoPhone program so I get the call in both ears.

For me it has always been an issue to hear a landline phone. I have had good results with using over the ear headphones while wearing my hearing aids but I have to say I wear ITE custom hearing aids, that are completely in the ear, and feedback hasn’t been an issue. I have had one pair of BTE hearing aids and never really figured out how to use headphones or be able to hear on a landline phone.

If they are in the ear, or in the canal, you should be able to answer like usual. If they’re behind the ear you have to position the receiver near the mic of the hearing aid–sometimes you have to find the “sweet spot” by moving it around a bit. I’ve had some that went a little wonky on a landline; beeping and such. So far the Phonak’s haven’t done that.

Using a cell phone isn’t an option at work, since my desk phone is landline

If your new aids have a telecoil, they should work reasonably well with a plain old landline phone. If not and you are using RIC or BTE aids, you need to hold the phone speaker near the aid’s microphone. I also use over the ear headsets with my Starkey Z-series RICs and they work very well for phone use. Get yourself a good gaming headset, I have the Sennheiser Game Zero and its great. I use this adapter to plug into my landline phone’s headset jack and it works very well www.ebay.com/itm/312471877116