Good reason to replace domes regularly

As a hearing aid newbie, I am discovering new things every day. The latest discovery is that replacing the domes (which I get free from Costco as often as I want) is a good idea to prevent the HAs from MOVING in my ear canls when I am doing things physically.

It appears that even though my domes only rarely show any visible wax particles on them, they are nevertheless apparently getting a wax layer on them with repeated use. I have found that after wearing the same domes for multiple days, somewhere between 7 and 14 days, they start to “slip” slightly out of position.

Because I have the “3rd microphone” option (no extra cost at Costco) on my Jabra Enhance Pro 20 HAs, when the domes slip a bit out of proper position in the ear canals, this allows some sound leakage and that causes audible feedback. Pushing them back into proper position eliminates the feedback, proving that the slippage is the cause. Because of the specific somewhat different shape of my left ear canal versus my right ear canal, the left HA is much more prone to the slippage, whereas it is rare on the right HA.

When this slippage starts to occur, replacing the domes completely eliminates this issue.

Of course, this is also a good time to replace the wax rings (also free from Costco as often as I want) while the domes are off.

Jim G

4 Likes

Thanks for posting! Here’s my experience in case it helps

My dispensing Audi left open domes on my new HA’s when he fitted them.

One day had stuck my index fingers in my ears. HA volume was much louder. Sound was going out of my ears

Recommendation here was to go to closed domes. (Better seal if sized right). They have 2small holes

I like your suggestion to change them more frequently.

1 Like

My domes are power domes, with dual cones, so they seal really well when inserted far enough and STAY there when not “waxed”!

Jim G

1 Like