Earmolds working loose

I have been wearing Phonak over the ear aids with earmolds for about 5 months. Lately I have noticed the earmolds start working themselves out of the canal. I push thme back in place and in a few moments they are loose. Is this normal?

Have you lost quite a bit of weight over this time period? After I dropped 20 lbs mine got a bit loose (I know it sounds strange. My kids used to tease me that the only weight I lost was BETWEEN my ears :slight_smile:

No this isn’t normal. It is usually a jaw bone movement issue. You should be able to feel your jaw movement if you stuck your finger in your ear and move your mouth. It is typically due to this movement that the molds slip out of the ears. Either you need to have your molds remade, or get new ones made. In either case, I would recommend deep (beyond the 2nd bend of your ear canal) open-jaw and closed-jaw impressions to be sent to the lab. This will help them build you proper fitting earmolds that shouldn’t slip out of your ears any more.

1 Like

I have heavy feedback and sound quality lose because bad micromold.
My audi tell me to move jaw in all directions and, of course its not ok. When i dislocate/move my jaw full to right its ok, but normal or open its not. :frowning:

Of course, feedback limit measure cut hard volume of my right ear.

Its hard, because my audi did not tell me anything (like what option did we have (like silicon mould, that i have right to 3 remake) how to make things better) so i must find out myself.

BTW: same audi opposed changing in genie from tulip to moulds (after i get mould) and try to reach oticon targets
He thinks tha oticon use to loud and to tight compression…

So my question is - how can i make good earmoulds? Is silicon better for sealing jaw movements than acril? Minimal vent is must have (heavy oclusion and noise like being underwather because pressure). Until than, im using telfon tape to fix it.