Ear molds. Like 'em? Hate 'em? Pros? Cons? Problems? (Phonak Lumity)

I have Phonak L90s.

I am a musician, and I keep the SPL levels under 85dba on stage and in the audience, too.

One day a week, another very loud act follows us. It takes us about a half hour to pack up our gear. With my old closed-dome Oticons, I would just turn the volume all the way down, and they were like ear plugs.

My Phonaks can be turned down, too, but a lot of the loud music still comes in. (They don’t have closed domes.)

My audi says I might want to think about ear molds. The price is $300 and if I don’t like them, I don’t get the money back.

So here I am, asking all of you that use ear molds, especially if you have Phonaks, to share your experience, so I can have more info to make my decision.

If you have them, what do you like about them? What do you dislike? Do you have any problems you didn’t anticipate?

Anything pro or con about your experience will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob

2 Likes

Why not try closed domes on your Phonaks?

Depending on on your audiogram, I went from open domes to ear molds to closed domes and much prefer the closed domes. I am also a musician and use the ear plug feature often.

3 Likes

I went to Costco for new ear molds in January 2024. I am a member but did not buy my Phonak aids from them. They are a huge improvement over my old molds. Cost is $39 per ear and came with new receivers.

4 Likes

I have L70’s with ear molds, and I’ve found that too loud is still too loud, even with them in and powered off. (My experience was a high school dance competition in a basketball gym, with the PA turned up to 11)

Your future ability to hear may depend on your use of pro grade noise reduction. Something like over the ear ear cups (3M makes pretty good ones) or good earplugs designed for this (Etymotics makes good ones).

1 Like

Thanks.

Psych1: My audi says closed domes are not available for this model