Domes/tips don't maintain position in ear canal - solutions?

widex Moment user here - love how my hearing aids sound when the domes are all the way in, BUT they slide just that fraction of a bit out and I don’t hear as well. I have all of the widex domes and sizes, and love the sleeves, but this is an issue :frowning: Is there some sort of aftermarket product that can keep them right in place after putting them in? Or even a third party dome that could fit these hearing aids? thanks!

There are different sizes and types of Widex domes available, or custom tips may work better for you. I would discuss with your dispenser if you have one-they should be looking to get your set up right for you. Custom tips can have a special coating to aid retention if needed.

There is something called a concha lock that can be added to the receiver that may help. In my opinion best solution is custom molds.

3 Likes

I have been using RIC hearing aids with silicon domes for 5 years. I have quite oily ear canals which makes it practically impossible to keep the domes in place for extended periods. I started with Widex HAs and tried every conceivable type and make of dome, eventually settling for Widex medium tukip domes. They were the best I could find. I even tried molds but hated them. I found the cocklear ear lock mentioned above didn’t help either. When I changed to Phonak P90 RIC HAs I tried unsuccessfully with their range of domes. I went back to Widex tulips which fit the Phonaks perfectly.

Audiologists don’t seem to understand the importance of the fit of domes and how they radically effect the quality of sound.

3 Likes

do the tulips hold best out of all of those? also curious how you like the phonaks after the widex?