Domes getting stuck in ear canals!

Hi everyone: I’ve been using Bernafon Brites for a couple of months now. I am having a major problem in that periodically when I take my hearing aids out, the speaker/wire component will slip out of the dome, leaving the the dome stuck in my ear canal. I’ve been told I have very small ear canals and docs have to use pediatric-sized tips on their otoscopes for viewing the inside of my ear canal/TMs. Thankfully I my signifcant other is a nurse and he can retrieve the domes from my canals using his otoscope and forceps. Needless to say, though, it’s a real hassle because there are times I need to take my hearing aids out when he’s not around and I run the chance of getting a dome stuck in the canal and not being able to wear my hearing aid. I mentioned it to my audiologist–she told me to make sure the dome is on the rigid speaker tube all the way (it is), and to gently pull on my lobe while taking the hearing aid out (which I do). She asked me if I put them in and take them out a lot throughout the day (I don’t). So far, her suggestions/ideas are not solving the problem.

Has anyone else had this problem and have you found a solution?

Thank you for your time, Donna K.

If your canals are that small why do you even need the dome in place? I know of at least one poster on another forum who’s wearing receiver-in-canal aids without any domes at all, to no ill effect.

Off the cuff I would think that without the protection of the dome I might run into scratching/irritation of the plastic edge against my canal. On a lark I put the hearing aid on w/o the dome once and the receiver/wire felt to be floating loosely in my canal. It didn’t feel secure and snug, and the possibility of it just falling out of and off my ear made me feel very uneasy.