Do I try Baha or just deal with it…

Hi all,

I feel like I’m having more and more trouble hearing in all public/ busy places. I can hear the sounds but clarity of words is getting more and more difficult. I even tried taking out my hearing aids to see if clarity would be any different (obviously the volume was way off without them but clarity is similar)

Is this something that I just have to deal with - with my loss? I really enjoy and trust my hearing Dr and don’t fell I should change. She tells me that’s it’s part of the process.

Not sure if going back and looking into Baha is something that would give me better listening quality. The wild part is I can hear well but it’s just clarity and being able to identity words in the high frequencies.

Love to hear any advise and if ever went through something similar?

Thanks.

I’m not a professional so take this for what it’s worth. My understanding is that it would depend a lot on what kind of loss you have (conductive vs sensorineural) If it’s conductive and your cochlea is in good shape, BAHA might be feasible. However if it’s sensorineural and your cochlea is significantly damaged, I don’t think BAHA is going to help, but cochlear implant might.
What does your audiologist have to say? I’d consider an evaluation (no commitment) for a cochlear implant. You’d learn a lot about your loss.

4 Likes

Hi there,

I have an airborne gap of approx 20-25 decibels across the board. From what I believe my cochlea is in good condition. My word recognition is still quiet high (around 82%) so I’m pretty sure that would rule out Cochlear implant?

Thanks.

I would agree that good word recognition scores make a cochlear implant unlikely. My take is that you have a mixed loss (meaning part conductive, part sensorineural) You need somebody way smarter than me to know what treatment options might be optimal.

Your audiologist could set you up with a headband-mounted bone conduction aid, so you can see how it works.