Disappointed with Oticon Intent 1 vs. More 1

I have been wearing More 1 since January 2021. After reading good reviews of Intent I decided to trial them. My audi copied the programming from the Mores to the Intents and sent me off for a three-week trial.

I haven’t noticed much difference. I was able to test them out in a loud restaurant environment that I am very familiar with. I switched to the Intents after wearing the Mores for awhile. I was hoping that the Intents would reduce ambient speech and music noise to a much greater degree than the Mores. But that was not my experience. It seemed about the same. I had trouble hearing conversations with the Intents in the same places I had trouble with the Mores.

When I had the Mores set up I asked for the Oticon rep to be present on the phone for the setup. The Oticon rep agreed with my audi’s settings. My complaint then was the same as it is now: too much amplification of ambient speech and other noise. Maybe the Intents have programming adjustment options that the Mores don’t have that would help address my problems, but I think the Intents would show more of an improvement even with identical programming to the Mores.

Bottom line: the Intents would cost me about $4,000 out of pocket. They might be a little better than the Mores, but not $4,000 better.

I am going to trial the Phonak Lumitys next. From reading @1Bluejay’s review of Intent vs. Lumity I think Phonak’s approach to speech in noise might be more effective for me.

8 Likes